Video

Cover Songs (Revisted)

A few months back, I touched upon my favorite cover songs. “Careless Whisper” cover by Seether, and “Ordinary Love” done by The Deftones got my blood boiling.  There’s so many excellent cover songs out there, I decided do this segment from time to time.

Today, I look at one of my favorite female fronted bands, Lacuna Coil covering “Enjoy the Silence” originally written Depeche Mode.  Christina Scabbia is the perfect singer to rehash this 80’s hit.  They do an amazing job turning this into their own, yet sticking to the original feel.  With lyrics like “Words are unnecessary” that are powerful and meaningful, Lacuna Coil hits this cover right on the money.

Another 80’s hit, “Drive” originally done by The Cars, is overtaken here by The Deftones.  Being one of my favorite bands of all the time; The Deftones have an arsenal of amazing covers.  You may find this pop rock 80’s tune a little odd for a band like The Deftones to cover.  Yet, Chino and the boys pull this off without a hitch.  Give it a listen yourself and decide if you want to look further in The Deftones catalog.

I’ll be back with some more off the wall, mind-mesmerizing covers!

Leave a comment